Mathematics, Engineering, and Computer Science

The Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science Division (MECS) offers flexible programs of study for an Associate of Science degree and prepares students to transfer to four-year programs.

The division also provides elective courses that apply to several undergraduate degrees at The University of New Mexico. Whether students are working on a degree, fulfilling General Education Core Curriculum requirements, or exploring something new, MECS offers a variety of courses to help students achieve personal and professional goals.

 Courses Offered

  • Engineering (Introductory courses in several fields of engineering)
  • Mathematics (Developmental through third-year Calculus, as well as Statistics)
  • Computer Science (Freshmen and sophomore level computer programming courses)

 Degrees and Certificates Available

 

Full-Time Faculty in the Mathematics MEC's Division:

NameTitle

Email

OfficePhone
Precious AndrewAssistant Professor of Mathematics

pandrew@unm.edu

A&S 123-A

505.925.8620
Greg BarnettAssistant Professor of Mathematicsgregbarnett@unm.eduLRC 107505.925.8620

Elaine Clark

Chair and Associate Professor of Mathematics

ewclark@unm.edu

A&S 142-C

505.925.8618

Andisheh Dadashi

Asstistant Professor of Mathematics

andisheh@unm.edu

 A&S 105

505.925.8644

Nancy Engler

Assistant Professor of Engineering

Pre-Engineering Program Coordinator

 englern@unm.edu

 A&S 123

505.925.8642
W. Clifton MurrayAssociate Professor of Mathematics and Physicswcmurray@unm.eduA&S 126-A505.925.8727
Ariel Ramirez

Assistant Professor of Mathematics 

Developmental Mathematics Coordinator

aramirez8@unm.eduLRC 172505.925.8912
Andrew TaylorAssistant Professor of Mathematicsataylor19@unm.eduA&S 123-B505.925.8607