Skip to main content

Science and Wellness

The Science and Wellness Division (SW) offers flexible programs of study for the Associate of Science degree (see listings below) and that prepare students for transfer to four-year programs. We also provide elective courses that apply to several of the STEM and health-related undergraduate degrees at the University of New Mexico.

 Courses Offered

  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth and Planetary Science
  • Health Education
  • Nutrition
  • Physical Education
  • Physics

 

Degrees and Certificates Available

  • Associate of Science in General Science
  • Associate of Science in Health Education

 

Full-Time Faculty in the Science and Wellness Division:

 

Miriam ChavezRegents' Professor of Biology

mjchavez@unm.edu

Ben Flicker

Assistant Professor of Biology

benflicker@unm.edu
Victor French

Lecturer II in Science

vfrench@unm.edu
Jerry Godbout

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

jgodbout@unm.edu
Kevin HobbsAssistant Professor of Physical and Natural Scienceskhobbs84@unm.edu

Arlett Moreno

Laboratory Coordinatoramoreno@unm.edu

Clifton Murray

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Physicswcmurray@unm.edu

Melanie Sanchez-Dinwiddie

Assistant Professor of Biology, and Chairmelasanc@unm.edu

Tracy Terry

Assistant Professor of Chemistrytjterry@unm.edu