Skip to main content

Mathematics, Engineering, and Science (MES)

The Mathematics, Engineering, and Science Division (MES) offers flexible programs of study for the Associate of Science degree (see listings below) and that prepare students for transfer to four-year programs. We also provide elective courses that apply to several of the STEM and health-related undergraduate degrees at the University of New Mexico. Whether you are working on your degree, fulfilling Core Curriculum requirements, preparing for admission to the BSN program, or exploring something new, MES offers a variety of courses to help you achieve your personal and professional goals.

 Courses Offered

  • Astronomy
  • Biology for the Health-Related Sciences and for Non-Majors
  • Other Biology Electives
  • General Chemistry
  • Earth and Planetary Science
  • Engineering Statics
  • Environmental Science
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology
  • Mathematics (Developmental through third-year Calculus)
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular and Cell Biology
  • Nutrition
  • General Physics
  • Robotics

 

Degrees and Certificates Available

  • Associate of Science in General Science
  • Associate of Science in Pre-Engineering
  • Associate of Science in Mathematics

 

Full-Time Faculty in the Mathematics, Engineering and Sciences Division:

 

Virginia Chang

Lecturer III in Chemistry

vfmchang@unm.edu

Miriam Chavez

Regents’ Professor of Biology

mjchavez@unm.edu

Elaine Clark

Chair and Assoc. Professor of Mathematics

ewclark@unm.edu

Benjamin Flicker

Asst. Professor of Biology

benflicker@unm.edu

Victor French

Lecturer II in Science

vfrench@unm.edu

Sarah Garde

Lecturer II in Mathematics and Developmental Math Coordinator

sgarde@unm.edu

Annette Hatch

Asst. Professor of Engineering

ahatch2@unm.edu

Alfonso Heras-Llanos

Asst. Professor of Mathematics

aheras@unm.edu

Kevin Hobbs

Asst. Professor of Physical and Natural Science

khobbs84@unm.edu

Khaled Kassem

Assoc. Professor of Mathematics and College Math Coordinator

khaled@unm.edu

Arlett Moreno

Laboratory Coordinator

amorastii@unm.edu

Clifton Murray

Assoc. Professor of Physics

wcmurray@unm.edu

Melanie Sanchez-Dinwiddie

Asst. Professor of Biology

melasanc@unm.edu

Mychael Smith

Instructor of Mathematics

mysmith@unm.edu

Tracy Terry

Asst. Professor of Chemistry

tjterry@unm.edu

Jinxia Xie

Asst. Professor of Mathematics

jxie@unm.edu