Skip to main content

Communications, Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences (CHESS)

The Communications, Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences Division (CHESS) offers flexible programs of study preparing students for transfer to four-year programs and count towards UNM Core Curriculum requirements. We also provide elective courses that are essential to the general education core and to the graduation requirements of all programs offered at UNM-Valencia. Whether you are working on your degree, fulfilling Core Curriculum requirements, learning a language, or exploring something new, CHESS offers a variety of courses to help you achieve your personal and professional goals.

Courses Offered

  • Anthropology
  • Communications and Journalism
  • Education
  • English
  • French
  • General Studies
  • History
  • Linguistics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Signed Language
  • Sociology
  • Spanish

Degrees and Certificates Available

  • Associate of Arts in Criminology
  • Associate of Arts in Early Childhood Multicultural Education
  • Academic Certificate Early Childhood Multicultural Education
  • Associate of Arts in Elementary Education
  • Academic Certificate in Elementary Education
  • Associate of Integrative Studies
  • Associate of Arts in Liberal Arts
  • Associate of Arts in Secondary Education

 

Full-Time Faculty in the Communications, Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences Division:

Justin Bendell

Asst. Professor of English

jbendell@unm.edu

Patricia Gillikin

Professor of English

gillikin@unm.edu

Teresa Goodhue

Lecturer II in Education

tgoodhue@unm.edu

Jami Huntsinger

Professor of English

jamilynn@unm.edu

Danizete Martinez

Chair and Assc. Professor of English

danizete@unm.edu

Richard Melzer

Regents’ Professor of History

rmelzer@unm.edu

Julia So

Asst. Professor of Sociology

juliaso@unm.edu

Amiee Stahlman

Lecturer I in Developmental English

stahlman@unm.edu

Heather Wood

Asst. Professor of English

hdwood@unm.edu